Child Sexual Abuse Lawyer in Texas
Serving Plano, Dallas, McKinney, Frisco, Allen, and Surrounding Areas
Child molestation can encompass a range of actions, behavior or conduct. Unfortunately, many individuals are falsely accused of molesting a minor, which can negatively affect their entire future. False allegations can include fabricated reports of touching a child improperly, incorrect reports from a child, statements from a child who did not understand the nature of their allegations, or assumptions from nurses or psychologists.
If you have been falsely accused of child molestation, it is important to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you immediately begin to create your best legal strategy. Even a false accusation of a child molestation offense can result in severe penalties and consequences, such as:
- Mandatory registration on the National Sex Offender Registry;
- A criminal record;
- Hefty fines,
- DIfficulty apply for and/or obtaining certain jobs,
- A refusal to be admitted into certain education programs,
- Embarrassment or humiliations among friends and family, and/or
- Denied ability to own/possess a firearm.
Strategic Legal Defense for Child Molestation Cases
The attorneys of Stuckle & Associates PLLC are experienced in defending false allegations of child molestation and will make every effort to help you avoid the most serious penalties and repercussions to your alleged offense. Our law firm works exclusively on sex crime charges in Texas and has the insight that you need during this critical time. Call (972) 423-4405 to learn more about your legal options.
What Is Considered Child Molestation in Texas?
Although molestation is commonly defined as a crime that involves sexual or inappropriate conduct or contact between an adult and a child, there is not a specific statute that actually penalizes child molestation in Texas. Instead, most molestation offenses are prosecuted under the statutes defined below.
Sexual contact in Texas (Tex. Penal Code § 21.11(c)) is defined as engaging in any of the following acts with the intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desires of any person:
- Touching any of the child’s body parts with the genitals, breast or anus of another person, including through clothes; or
- Touching any part of the genitals, breast or anus of a child, including through clothes.
The Texas Penal Code § 22.011(c) defines a child or minor as a person who was 17 or younger at the time the alleged offense occurred.
Child Molestation Potential Penalties
Child molestation consequences and penalties for a felony conviction are basically defined in Chapter 12 of the Texas Penal Code. The general penalties listed below can vary; however, depending on the degree of the offense, depending on the severity of the offense, depending on whether the alleged offender has any other prior convictions, and the age of the child.
- A conviction for a felony of the third degree child molestation offense can result in a prison sentence ranging from two to 10 years and/or a fine up to $10,000.
- A conviction for a felony of the second degree child molestation offense can result in a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 years and/or a fine not more than $10,000.
- A conviction for a felony of the first degree child molestation offense can result in a prison sentence ranging from five to 99 years or life imprisonment and/or a fine up to $10,000.
Contact Our Experienced Lawyers Today for a Free Consultation
If you have been falsely accused of molesting a child in Texas, contact Stuckle & Associates PLLC today. Paul Stuckle is an experienced sexual assault defenese lawyer who will make every effort to help you achieve the most desirable outcome for your particular situation. Call (972) 423-4405 or send an online message to schedule your free consultation at our Plano office.